Welcome Home

So Peru has been my home for a little over three months now and oh what a time it has been. I was reluctant to write anything about my experiences in the first three months because of a couple of reasons I suppose. I guess I wanted to be a little selfish and just cherish this whole experience for what it is. We are too quick to post and update on our lives without really taking it in and realizing how unique and personal life’s experiences are. Also,  I truly did not know how to express or comprehend this new life of mine into words so I decided to do what I do best, observe and soak it all in. I can remember staging as if it were yesterday, all of us in the Philadelphia hotel, meeting each other for the first time not having a clue what we just signed ourselves up for. The beauty of Peace Corps is that you are grouped with people from all walks of life each in different phases of their destiny and we are given the opportunity to learn something new about people that you would not have known if this opportunity did not exist. How lucky I am to be a part of Group 27 because not only  are we group 27 who left on April 27th…to serve in Peru for 27 months, but this group also has some of the funniest and talented human beings I have ever met and will never forget.So now Training has come and gone and now here I am in my little town of Yambrasbamba, Amazonas living a life I never pictured for myself. For starters, I never imagined myself living in a town with 250 families, living in the mountains with pigs, ducks, chickens, birds and whatever other animal decides to pop on in.

Although the nights are cold and the showers are even colder, I don’t think I will ever get over the breathtaking view that I get to wake up to every morning. Not to mention the beautiful, kind-hearted family Peace Corps paired me with. My first day my host family welcomed me with some delicious duck that I watched my host mother kill, pluck and cook all in the same day, and oh how graceful and not to mention badass she was at doing it all. My host dad, Joel works in the chakras all day where they grow coffee and all other sorts of wonderful goods and every night he brings back something delicious for us to try during dinner. He always yells “ Mi Krishhhni” everytime he sees me from across the yard and for some reason it just makes my day. Peruvians LOVE nicknames so it’s appropriate that Krishhni is my new Peruvian name. Then there is my host mother Asunta who is a true ray of sunshine. She is filled with so much positivity and love, not to mention her amazing cooking abilities that I feel like the world is missing out on! She is the kind of person that has that infectious laugh that makes you laugh whether you want to or not.

IMG_20160618_140320
Look at how cute she is!

Then there is Loida, who is the sister I never had. This chica is seriously the sweetest person and the best hiking/adventure partner. Her presence lights up a room and she always has a joke ready to go. Finally, there is Jhordi who is 10 and his intelligence never ceases to amaze me. This little dude is master of origami and we chat about black holes and life on mars during our dinner discussions. Not to mention he is always willing to try my weird food creations and with such excitement…brave boy he is. Without the love and support from these people I think that this experience would be completely different than what it has been.  As loving as this family is I still know that I am the weird American who does weird things so I know the staring just comes with the territory. But I know that they appreciate my freak of nature self because we are just trying to understand one another as best as we can, one laugh and spoonful of rice at a time and what a beautiful experience it has been so far.

IMG_20160619_074705.jpg

These past three months has made me realize many things about the world we live in and pretty much every other aspect of myself, which is pretty unavoidable when you are stripped from everything that you once knew. My lifestyle is definitely a lot different than what it was but adjusting will come naturally. It is the relationships and people that I meet that will take time because Peruvians are all about the confianza (trust). As they should be…one thing I have noticed that is drastically different here is that everyone says hello and engages in conversations with you while walking down the streets. That would never happen in the States or in a big city. People are too consumed with their daily schedules and that next appointment they can’t be late for and don’t have “time” to engage in such gestures. But let me tell ya, what a lovely gesture it is. I am not sure what is in store for me or what tomorrow holds but I know that this will be one heck of a ride and more than anything, I am just grateful that I decided to live outside of my comfort zone. It’s easy to lose yourself in all of this chaos and uncertainty that is ahead for the next few years, but once I take a step back and look at the beauty that I am surrounded by I think about all that has happened in the past few months. It is during these times that I realize the true magnificence of this whole thing and I am filled a joy that I have never felt before. For that reason, I know it is worth it all. Then in the background noise I hear the rooters calling and I am quickly brought back to reality, but that’s what it’s all about!

….Sappy rant over, now time for the juicy stuff. What the heck has happened in my time here?!

  • I tried cuy and I would totally eat it again
  • I realized there is nothing more terrifying than a Peruvian street dog.
  • Street food is a hit or miss with the digestive system, usually a miss though. Also, it’s not a wise idea to eat it before a 26 hour bus ride.
  • Our bus has broken down every time we have ventured to Amazonas. Always a goodtime with the Amazonas crew
  • Never question mystery meat
  • It is possible to throw up from eating too much rice and potatoes
  • Peruvians know how to celebrate birthdays (hora loca)
  • “Gato” is not only cat in Spanish, but also a brand of boxed wine that puts Franzia to shame
  • Dancing is a must
  • Haven’t figured out if my host family is laughing with me or at me… probably both but either way I’m glad they are getting a kick out of my weirdness
  • Cold showers aren’t so bad after 30 seconds because you really can’t feel anything after that
  • Seriously, never question the mystery meat

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Matthew Sokol says:

    Absolutely Amazing!!! Im so proud of you and loved reading this update. I couldn’t help but smile as I read and pictured you living out this experience. I miss you dearly and cant wait to hear your voice again. Looking forward to hearing more about this wonderful journey. I’m sure Peru shines a little brighter with you around. When you get a moment please let me know when we can talk 😦 . Be safe, have fun, laugh, learn, dance, and listen.

    Love you now and always!

    Matthew Sokol

    Like

  2. Leslie kuna says:

    Dear Kristine,
    Thank you for taking us through your journey so far. I could you hear your voice and see your sweet smile as I immersed my self in your last three months! What a beautiful soul you have!
    I am so absolutely proud of you !

    Like

Leave a comment